March 01, 2007

Vote Online for CMT Awards

If you've been disappointed with the results of a parade of recent awards programming, now is your chance to have a say. The CMT Music Awards are a fairly new addition to the awards show circuit, tauted as the only fan-voted country music awards show. Jeff Foxworthy will host, as he has done for the last three years. Viewers can vote for their favorite videos in a two-round format. The first round of nominee selection has been completed with the exception of the final four Video of the Year nominees. Fan-voting for all other category winners is now in full swing.

The Johnny Cash Visionary Award will be given to an as yet unnamed recipient. Strangely enough, this award so obviously named in honor of Johnny Cash, was not "given" to Johnny Cash until 2003, the second year of this event. The Dixie Chicks were honored during the 2002 CMT Awards telecast, its premiere year. This years' recipient will be announced on March 13, so check back for an update.

Expect big-time performances by some of country music's hottest stars, including Carrie Underwood, Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Martina McBride, Sugarland and Dierks Bentley and more. The ceremony will air on April 16, 2007, with a live simulcast playing on affiliated country music radio and a live webcast at What a party!

Kellie Pickler, an American Idol contestant and successful country music artist, will host a one-hour special featuring the eight contenders for Video of the Year, which include:

  • Toby Keith - "A Little Too Late"
  • Dixie Chicks - "Not Ready to Make Nice"
  • George Straigth - "The Seashores of Old Mexico"
  • Rascal Flatts - "What Hurts the Most"
  • Carrie Underwood ' "Before He Cheats"
  • Keith Urban - "Once in a Lifetime"
  • Sugarland - "Want To"
  • Kenny Chesney - "You Save Me"
All other related programming surrounding the 2007 CMT Music Awards can be found here.

Happy Voting!

No comments: